Graduate Students

PhD Post-Proposal Defense  |  PhD Pre-Proposal Defense  |  MA Students  |  MA Public History Students



PhD Students

PhD Post-Proposal Defense Students

David Blocker

David Blocker

Dissertation Topic
'To Waffle to the Left': Canada's New Democratic Party and New Left during the Long Sixties

Supervisor
Keith Fleming

E-mail
dblocker@uwo.ca

Nina Bozzo

Nina Bozzo

Dissertation Topic
Duty or Care? Canadian General and Stationary Hospitals, Universities, and Community Ties during the First World War

Supervisor
Shelley McKellar

E-mail
nbozzo@uwo.ca

 


Erin Brown

Erin Brown

Dissertation Topic
"Tranquilize Your Mind": Drug Use, Gender, and the Middle Class in American Popular Culture, 1955-1970

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
ebrow57@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2220

GTA
HIS 2301E: The United Staes, Colonial Period to the Present


Nolan Brown

Nolan Brown

Dissertation Topic
Saskatchewan Political Conservatism, 1905-1982

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
nbrown24@uwo.ca

 


Luana Buckle

Luana Buckle

Dissertation Topic
Foodways and Values: Leicestershire's Middle Classes, 1860-1900.  

Supervisor
Allyson May

E-mail
lbuckle9@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2241

GTA
HIS 1401E: Modern Europe, 1715 to the Present: Conflict and Transformation


Paul Burrows

Paul Burrows

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
pburrow2@uwo.ca


Jordan Chase

Jordan Chase

Dissertation Topic
'War Weariness' and the Individual Experience of War in the Canadian Corps

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jchase3@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 1203

Documents
Curriculum Vitae


John Comstock

John Comstock

Research Topic
Beyond Control: Censorship, Soldiers' letters and the BEF's monitoring of the morale during the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jcomstoc@uwo.ca




Frances Henry

Frances Henry

Dissertation Topic
Sex, Love, & the Noose: Sodomy & Emotions in 18th Century England

Supervisor
Allyson May

E-mail
fhenry@uwo.ca

 


Carla Joubert

Carla Joubert

Dissertation Topic
"Barberton Daisies: The Role of White Women in the Settlement of the Transvaal in the Mid-Nineteenth Century.” 

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
cjoubert@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262

Website(s)
cjoubert.wordpress.com

Digital History Lab Assistant


George Kennedy

George Kennedy

Dissertation Topic
teyukwatuhw^tsyoni (we all benefit from the earth): The Dish with One Spoon: Haudenosaunee inter-Indigenous relations against the backdrop of Eurocentric interpretations

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
gkenned6@uwo.ca

Jonathan Malek

Jonathan Malek

Dissertation Topic
"The Pearl of the Prairies: The history of the Winnipeg Filipina/o community, 1959-2010

Supervisor
Stephanie Bangarth

E-mail
jmalek7@uwo.ca

Website(s)
academia.edu


Daniel Manulak

Manulak-UWO-History-website.jpg

Research Topic
A Light in the Window": Canada, Race, and South African Apartheid, 1958-1994

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
dmanulak@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 1203


Bryan McClure

Bryan McClure

Dissertation Topic
'Gave His Life for the Empire': Memory, Memorials and Identity in the British Commonwealth after the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
bmcclur4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2241

GTA
IR 2702E: Global Politics Since 1945

HIS 2186B: Zombie Apocalypse: Panic and Paranois from the Black Death to Y2K


Michael O'Hagan

Michael O'Hagan

Dissertation Topic
"In the Midst of the Canadian Bush": Prisoner of War Labour Projects in Canada during the Second World War

Supervisor
Alan MacEachern

E-mail
mohagan4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221

Website(s)
powsincanada (blog)


Sara Poulin

Sara Poulin

Dissertation Topic
Canada's Role in the Liberation of the Concentration Camps during the Second World War, 1944-45

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
spoulin2@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2220

GTA
HIS 3427E: The Holocaust


Allen Priest

Allen Priest

Dissertation Topic
The ‘Man’ For The Job: Cold War Political Masculinity in Canada and the United States, 1948-1974

Supervisor
Aldona Sendzikas

E-mail
apriest4@uwo.ca

Office
LwH 2220

GTA
HIS 2201E: Canada: Origins to the Present

Academia.edu


Robyn Schwarz

Robyn Schwarz

Dissertation Topic
"To Be On Your Own: Single Mothers In Ontario, 1957-1980."

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
rschwar8@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221

Website(s)
Twitter profile (@robynsch)


Nassisse Solomon

Nassisse Solomon

Dissertation Topic
Rooted in History: The Trajectory of Representations and Perceptions of Ethiopian Identities in Canada

Supervisor
Stephanie Bangarth

E-mail
nsolomon@uwo.ca

Mary Beth Start

Mary Beth Start

Dissertation Topic
Not 'a by-gone people in quaint bonnets': Material Remnants and Historical Inquiry in a Canadian Quaker Settlement, 1810-1989

Supervisor
Michelle Hamilton

E-mail
mstart@uwo.ca

Maksym Sviezhentsev

Maksym Sviezhentsev

Dissertation Topic
Russian Policy in Ukrainian Crimea (1990-1997): Creating a Community of ‘Foreign Natives’

Supervisor
Marta Dyczok

E-mail
msviezhe@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221

GTA
HIS 1807: Introduction to the History of Business and Commerce


Jonathan Weier

Jonathan Weier

Dissertation Topic
National and Religious identities in the Canadian, American and British YMCAs During the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jweier@uwo.ca

Todd Weiler

Todd Weiler

Research Topic
International arbitration, the legal and diplomatic professions, and foreign investment protection

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
todd@treatylaw.com

Website(s)
www.treatylaw.com
www.naftaclaims.com


Christopher White

Christopher White

Dissertation Topic
Islands of Contention: The American Influence on Maritime Territorial Disputes in East Asia during the Cold War

Supervisor
Carl Young

E-mail
cwhite53@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221




Back to Top


PhD Pre-Proposal Defense Students

Jonathan Bayer

Jonathan Bayer

Dissertation Topic
National Identities in the Canadian and American Presses, 1763-1867

Supervisor
Nancy Rhoden

E-mail
jbayer@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214

GTA
HIS 2301E: The United States, Colonial Period to the Present


M. Blake Butler

Blake Butler

Dissertation Topic
TBD

Supervisor
Alan MacEachern

E-mail
mbutle32@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2253

GTA
HIS 2201E: Canada: Origins to the Present


Benjamin Corriveau

Benjamin Corriveau

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Brock Millman

E-mail
bcorrive@uwo.ca

Office


Heather Ellis

Heather Ellis

Dissertation Topic
Aftershocks: The Psychological Cost of the Great War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
hellis3@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2253

GTA
HIS 1810E: Wars that Changed the World


Sara Khorshid

Sara K

Dissertation Topic
The US Military Aid to Egypt, 1979-1991

Supervisor
Frank Schumacher

E-mail
skhorshi@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2262

GTA
HIS 1807: Introduction to the History of Business and Commerce


Guy St-Denis

Guy.jpg

Dissertation Topic
Sir Isaac Brock and the Rise of Canada: His Leadership and Its Impact

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
gstdeni3@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2262

GTA
HIS 2120A/B: Northern Enterprise: Canadian Business and Labour History


Cristina Stoica

Lu Wang

Dissertation Topic
The Holocaust of the Roma in Eastern and Central Europe.

Supervisor
Marta Dyczok

E-mail
cstoica2@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2262

GTA
HIS 1401E: Modern Europe, 1715 to the Present: Conflict and Transformation


Lu Wang

Lu Wang

Dissertation Topic
The Power of Needlework: Embroidery in Late Imperial China

Supervisor
James Flath

E-mail
lwang842@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214




Back to Top


MA Students

History (Thesis)


Name Email/Office
Robert Armstrong Topic: Environmental History of Oil in Lambton County

Supervisor: Alan MacEachern

GTA: HIS 2601E: History of Modern China
rarmst28@uwo.ca 

LwH 1201
Jordyn Bailey Topic: Invasion of the 'Big Blond Nazi Boys': German POWs in Ontario during the Second World War

Supervisor(s): Jonathan Vance & Eli Nathans

GTA: HIS 1401E: Modern Europe: 1715 to the Present: Conflict and Transformation
jbaile54@uwo.ca

LwH 1209
Vesna Curlic TopicDomesticity in English and Scottish Lunatic Asylums, 1880-1914

Supervisor: Shelley McKellar

GTA: HIS 1810E: Wars that Changed the World
vcurlic@uwo.ca

LwH 1210
Patrick Holland Stergar TopicDepot Harbour: A Study of an Early 20th Century Canadian Grain Port

Supervisor: Francine McKenzie

GTA: HIS 1601E: Survey of East Asian History (Lead TA)

phollan4@uwo.ca

LwH 1201

Lauren Luchenski
(Public History)
Topic: 'A Woman's Place is in the Jail': An Oral History Project with the Women of Kingston Penitentiary

Supervisor: Michelle Hamtilon

GTA: HIS 2181A: Sexual History: Expression, Regulation, and Rights in the West since 1800

lluchens@uwo.ca

LwH 1210

Robyn O'Dell (JD/MA) Topic: Sterilization as a Form of Genocide in Twentieth Century North America

Supervisor: Frank Schumacher

GTA: HIS 2310F: American Nightmare: An Introduction to American Studies and HIS 2182B/WS2139B - Social History of Women in Canada

rodell3@uwo.ca

LwH 2214

Ilinca Olariu Topic: For Homelands, Both Old and New: Romanian-born Soldiers in the Canadian Expeditionary Force

Supervisor: Jonathan Vance

GTA: HIS 1810E: Wars that Changed the World

iolariu3@uwo.ca

LwH 1209

Maggie O'Riordan Ross TopicThe History of Prostitution in London, Ontario, 1920-1940

Supervisor: Robert Wardhaugh

GTA: HIS 2201E: Canada: Origins to the Present
moriord2@uwo.ca

LwH 1202
Austen Smith

Topic: Women and the American Revolution: Perception of Politics and Power Through Writing and Action

Supervisor: Nancy Rhoden

GTA: HIS 2181A: Sexual History: Expression, Regulation, and Rights in the West since 1800

HIS2186B: Zombie Apocalypse: Panic and Paranoia from the Black Death to Y2K

asmit592@uwo.ca

LwH 1210
Paul White Topic: TBD

Supervisor: Keith Fleming

pwhite28@uwo.ca

LwH 2215

History (Year 1)

Name UWO Email Office
Alicia Boyer aboyer4@uwo.ca LWH 1209
Michael Brown mbrow346@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Peter Callahan pcallah2@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Jacqueline Chateauvert jchateau@uwo.ca LWH 2252
Dryden Choban dchoban@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Matthew Cleary mcleary4@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Jennifer Draper jzoetho@uwo.ca LWH 2252
Brigette Farrell bfarrel4@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Michael Feagan mfeagan@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Jessi Gilchrist jgilch4@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Michael Gunn mgunn3@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Sarah Hart shart47@uwo.ca LWH 2252
Michael Kirshin mkirshin@uwo.ca
Sarah Lawson slawso7@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Ryan Melo rmelo2@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Samuel Pitre spitre4@uwo.ca LWH 2252
Kenneth Reilly kreill22@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Jeffrey Shefler jshefler@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Hillary Stewart hstewa7@uwo.ca LWH 2252
Momana Waseem mwaseem4@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Sandra White swhit46@uwo.ca LWH 2252
Brenden Woldman bwoldman@uwo.ca LWH 1265


Back to Top


MA Public History Students

Name UWO Email Office
Katharine Anderson kande22@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Katrina Bjornstad kbjornst@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Sean Campbell scamp22@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Elizabeth Carbonneau ecarbonn@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Rachel Delle Palme rdellepa@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Skylee-Storm Hogan shogan7@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Louisa Orford lorford@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Henrietta Roi hroi@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Leanna Tran ltran82@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Heather Wilson hwilso26@uwo.ca LWH 1277


Back to Top