Western University HistoryWestern Social Science

Graduate Students

PhD Post-Proposal Defense  |  PhD Pre-Proposal Defense  |  MA Students  |  MA Public History Students



PhD Students

PhD Post-Proposal Defense Students

Michael Aloisio

Michael Aloisio

Dissertation Topic
Black Healthcare Activism, 1915-1930

Supervisor
Shelley McKellar

E-mail
maloisi@uwo.ca

Megan Baxter

Megan Baxter

Dissertation Topic
Masculinity, Fraternalism, and the Ontario Temperence Movement

Supervisor
Katherine McKenna

E-mail
mbaxte5@uwo.ca

David Blocker

David Blocker

Dissertation Topic
The "Waffle", the NDP, and Canada's "New Left" Since the 1960s

Supervisor
Keith Fleming

E-mail
dblocker@uwo.ca

Cayley Bower

Cayley Bower

Dissertation Topic
O Death, Where is Your Victory? Negotiating Modernity and Death in 19th Century Kingston

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
cbower4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2214


Nina Bozzo

Nina Bozzo

Dissertation Topic
Duty or Care? Canadian General and Stationary Hospitals, Universities, and Community Ties during the First World War

Supervisor
Shelley McKellar

E-mail
nbozzo@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221


Nolan Brown

Nolan Brown

Dissertation Topic
Saskatchewan Political Conservatism, 1905-1982

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
nbrown24@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 1209


Jordan Chase

Jordan Chase

Dissertation Topic
'War Weariness' and the Individual Experience of War in the Canadian Corps

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jchase3@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 1203

Documents
Curriculum Vitae


Samantha Desroches

Samantha Desroches

Dissertation Topic
Tanks and Tinsel: The American Celebration of Christmas during World War II

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
sdesroc7@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2253

Website(s)
academia.edu


Devon Elliott

Devon Elliott

Dissertation Topic
The Technology and Culture of Stage Magic, 1840-1940

Supervisor
William Turkel and

E-mail
delliot8@uwo.ca

Ryan Flavelle

Ryan Flavelle

Dissertation Topic
Killing, Combat, and the Canadian Soldier during the First World War 1914 - 1918.

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
rflavell@uwo.ca

Gregg French

Gregg French

Dissertation Topic
An "Instinctive Mutual Attraction": American Perceptions of Spain and the Spanish Empire in the Long Nineteenth-Century, 1776-1914

Supervisor
Frank Schumacher

E-mail
gfrench4@uwo.ca

Jeremy Garrett

Jeremy Garrett

Dissertation Topic
Tribute to the Fallen: 20th Century Canadian Burial Policy

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jgarre@uwo.ca

Website(s)
academia.edu
Linkedin


Evan Habkirk 

Evan Habkirk

Dissertation Topic
"Charting Continuation: Understanding Post-Traditional Six Nations Militarism, 1814-1918"

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
ehabkir@uwo.ca

Website(s)
www.doingourbit.ca


Frances Henry

Frances Henry

Dissertation Topic
Sex, Love, & the Noose: Sodomy & Emotions in 18th Century England

Supervisor
Allyson May

E-mail
fhenry@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2214


Magdalena Hentel

Magdalena Hentel

Dissertation Topic
Temporary Gentlemen: the Masculinity of Lower-Middle-Class Temporary British Officers in the First World War

Supervisor
Amy Bell

E-mail
mhentel@uwo.ca

Amanda Judge

Amanda Judge

Dissertation Topic
The Existence of a "Third Myth" in Northern Ireland

Supervisor
Brock Millman

E-mail
aljudge@uwo.ca

George Kennedy

George Kennedy

Dissertation Topic
teyukwatuhw^tsyoni (we all benefit from the earth): The Dish with One Spoon: Haudenosaunee inter-Indigenous relations against the backdrop of Eurocentric interpretations

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
gkenned6@uwo.ca

James MacKellar

James MacKellar

Dissertation Topic
Theatre of War: The Americans, the Japanese, and Everyone Else at the 1951 San Francisco Peace Conference

Supervisor
Carl Young & Frank Schumacher

E-mail
jmackell@uwo.ca

Jonathan Malek

Jonathan Malek

Dissertation Topic
"The Pearl of the Prairies: The history of the Winnipeg Filipina/o community, 1959-2010

Supervisor
Stephanie Bangarth

E-mail
jmalek7@uwo.ca

Website(s)
academia.edu


Shawn McCarthy

Shawn McCarthy

Dissertation Topic
The Happy Secret: Dynastic Politics and the Role of the Consort in Austria-Hungary and the United Kingdom, 1850-1925

Supervisor
Brock Millman

E-mail
smccar22@uwo.ca

Matthew McRae

Matthew McRae

Dissertation Topic
The Shadowy Corners of the Peaceable Kingdom: Rebellion, Social Memory, and the Myth of Peace, Order and Good Government

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
mmcrae6@uwo.ca

Shezan Muhammedi

Shezan Muhammedi

Dissertation Topic
"Gifts from Amin": The Resettlement, Integration and Identities of Ugandan Asian Refugees in Canada"

Supervisor
Stephanie Bangarth

E-mail
smuhamme@uwo.ca

Website(s)
LinkedIn


Michael O'Hagan

Michael O'Hagan

Dissertation Topic
"In the Midst of the Canadian Bush": Prisoner of War Labour Projects in Canada during the Second World War

Supervisor
Alan MacEachern

E-mail
mohagan4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221

Website(s)
powsincanada (blog)


Graeme Phillips

Graeme Phillips

Dissertation Topic
Peace and Masculinity in Cold War Canada

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
gphilli9@uwo.ca

Robyn Schwarz

Robyn Schwarz

Dissertation Topic
"To Be On Your Own: Single Mothers In Ontario, 1945-1980."

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
rschwar8@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2253

Website(s)
Twitter profile (@robynsch)


Nassisse Solomon

Nassisse Solomon

Dissertation Topic
"Rooted in History: Being Ethiopian in Twentieth Century Canada"

Supervisor
Stephanie Bangarth

E-mail
nsolomon@uwo.ca

Mary Beth Start

Mary Beth Start

Dissertation Topic
Not 'a by-gone people in quaint bonnets': Material Remnants and Historical Inquiry in a Canadian Quaker Settlement, 1810-1989

Supervisor
Michelle Hamilton

E-mail
mstart@uwo.ca

Jonathan Weier

Jonathan Weier

Dissertation Topic
National and Religious identities in the Canadian, American and British YMCAs During the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jweier@uwo.ca

Christopher White

Christopher White

Dissertation Topic
Islands of Contention: The American Influence on Maritime Territorial Disputes in East Asia during the Cold War

Supervisor
Carl Young

E-mail
cwhite53@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221


Elliot Worsfold

Elliot Worsfold

Dissertation Topic
Welcoming Strangers: Ethnicity, Race, and Religion in German Lutheran Ontario and Missouri, 1939-1970s

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
eworsfol@uwo.ca

Office
STVH 2160




Back to Top


PhD Pre-Proposal Defense Students

Erin Brown

Erin Brown

Research Topic
Sexism and Gender in 1960s Pop Culture

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
ebrow57@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2215


Luana Buckle

Luana Buckle

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Allyson May

E-mail
lbuckle9@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2241


Paul Burrows

Paul Burrows

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
pburrow2@uwo.ca


John Comstock

John Comstock

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jcomstoc@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262


Benjamin Corriveau

Benjamin Corriveau

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Brock Millman

E-mail
bcorrive@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262


Tristan Johnson

Tristan Johnson

Research Topic
Never Forget: Memory, Media, Technology, and the September 11th, 2001 Attacks

Supervisor
Bill Turkel and Rob MacDougall

E-mail
tjohn24@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2220

Website(s)
Tristan PEJ
Step Back History (YouTube)


Carla Joubert

Carla Joubert

Research Topic
"Barberton Daisies: The Role of White Women in the Settlement of the Transvaal in the Mid-Nineteenth Century.” 

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
cjoubert@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262

Website(s)
Twitter (@cajoubs)
cjoubert.wordpress.com


Daniel Manulak

Daniel Manulak

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
dmanulak@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2214


Bryan McClure

Bryan McClure

Research Topic
First World War Commemoration

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
bmcclur4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2241


Sara Poulin

Sara Poulin

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
spoulin2@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2215


Allen Priest

Allen Priest

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Aldona Sendzikas

E-mail
apriest4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2215


Maksym Sviezhentsev

Maksym Sviezhentsev

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Marta Dyczok

E-mail
msviezhe@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262


Todd Weiler

Todd Weiler

Research Topic
International arbitration, the legal and diplomatic professions, and foreign investment protection

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
todd@treatylaw.com

Website(s)
www.treatylaw.com
www.naftaclaims.com




Back to Top


MA Students

History MA Students

NameUWO EmailOffice
Erika Blok eblok@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Jessica Del Duca jdelduca@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Caroline Gawlik cgawlik2@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Matthew Greco mgreco43@uwo.ca LWH 1265
David Han jhan236@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Joseph Ives jives5@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Nevcihan Ozbilge nkaraosm@uwo.ca LWH 2241
Christina Kaszuba ckaszuba@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Andre Lachance alachan2@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Hannah Leslie hleslie3@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Robert MacMillan rmacmil7@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Shane Roberts srobe47@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Desaree Rosskopf drosskop@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Waseem Shahatto wshahatt@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Marshall Wilcox mwilco@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Jacob Williams jwill47@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Vincent Yam vyam2@uwo.ca LWH 1265


Back to Top


History MA Public History Students

NameUWO EmailOffice
Jennifer Bate jbate3@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Jessica Di Laurenzio jdilaure@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Grace Evers gevers2@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Kyle Lariviere klarivi2@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Paige Linner plinner@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Lilia Lockwood llockwo2@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Kelsey Priestman kpriest3@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Mary Spinks mspinks@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Thomas Van Dewark tvandewa@uwo.ca LWH 1277


Back to Top