Graduate Students

PhD Post-Proposal Defense  |  PhD Pre-Proposal Defense  |  MA Students  |  MA Public History Students



PhD Students

PhD Post-Proposal Defense Students

Michael Aloisio

Michael Aloisio

Dissertation Topic
Black Healthcare Activism, 1915-1930

Supervisor
Shelley McKellar

E-mail
maloisi@uwo.ca

Megan Baxter

Megan Baxter

Dissertation Topic
Masculinity, Fraternalism, and the Ontario Temperence Movement

Supervisor
Katherine McKenna

E-mail
mbaxte5@uwo.ca

David Blocker

David Blocker

Dissertation Topic
The "Waffle", the NDP, and Canada's "New Left" Since the 1960s

Supervisor
Keith Fleming

E-mail
dblocker@uwo.ca

Nina Bozzo

Nina Bozzo

Dissertation Topic
Duty or Care? Canadian General and Stationary Hospitals, Universities, and Community Ties during the First World War

Supervisor
Shelley McKellar

E-mail
nbozzo@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221


Nolan Brown

Nolan Brown

Dissertation Topic
Saskatchewan Political Conservatism, 1905-1982

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
nbrown24@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 1209


Jordan Chase

Jordan Chase

Dissertation Topic
'War Weariness' and the Individual Experience of War in the Canadian Corps

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jchase3@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 1203

Documents
Curriculum Vitae


John Comstock

John Comstock

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jcomstoc@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262


Samantha Desroches

Samantha Desroches

Dissertation Topic
Tanks and Tinsel: The American Celebration of Christmas during World War II

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
sdesroc7@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2253

Website(s)
academia.edu


Ryan Flavelle

Ryan Flavelle

Dissertation Topic
Killing, Combat, and the Canadian Soldier during the First World War 1914 - 1918.

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
rflavell@uwo.ca

Jeremy Garrett

Jeremy Garrett

Dissertation Topic
Tribute to the Fallen: 20th Century Canadian Burial Policy

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jgarre@uwo.ca

Website(s)
academia.edu
Linkedin


Evan Habkirk 

Evan Habkirk

Dissertation Topic
"Charting Continuation: Understanding Post-Traditional Six Nations Militarism, 1814-1918"

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
ehabkir@uwo.ca

Website(s)
www.doingourbit.ca


Frances Henry

Frances Henry

Dissertation Topic
Sex, Love, & the Noose: Sodomy & Emotions in 18th Century England

Supervisor
Allyson May

E-mail
fhenry@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2214


George Kennedy

George Kennedy

Dissertation Topic
teyukwatuhw^tsyoni (we all benefit from the earth): The Dish with One Spoon: Haudenosaunee inter-Indigenous relations against the backdrop of Eurocentric interpretations

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
gkenned6@uwo.ca

Jonathan Malek

Jonathan Malek

Dissertation Topic
"The Pearl of the Prairies: The history of the Winnipeg Filipina/o community, 1959-2010

Supervisor
Stephanie Bangarth

E-mail
jmalek7@uwo.ca

Website(s)
academia.edu


Daniel Manulak

Daniel Manulak

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
dmanulak@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2214


Matthew McRae

Matthew McRae

Dissertation Topic
The Shadowy Corners of the Peaceable Kingdom: Rebellion, Social Memory, and the Myth of Peace, Order and Good Government

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
mmcrae6@uwo.ca

Michael O'Hagan

Michael O'Hagan

Dissertation Topic
"In the Midst of the Canadian Bush": Prisoner of War Labour Projects in Canada during the Second World War

Supervisor
Alan MacEachern

E-mail
mohagan4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221

Website(s)
powsincanada (blog)


Graeme Phillips

Graeme Phillips

Dissertation Topic
Peace and Masculinity in Cold War Canada

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
gphilli9@uwo.ca

Robyn Schwarz

Robyn Schwarz

Dissertation Topic
"To Be On Your Own: Single Mothers In Ontario, 1945-1980."

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
rschwar8@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2253

Website(s)
Twitter profile (@robynsch)


Nassisse Solomon

Nassisse Solomon

Dissertation Topic
"Rooted in History: Being Ethiopian in Twentieth Century Canada"

Supervisor
Stephanie Bangarth

E-mail
nsolomon@uwo.ca

Mary Beth Start

Mary Beth Start

Dissertation Topic
Not 'a by-gone people in quaint bonnets': Material Remnants and Historical Inquiry in a Canadian Quaker Settlement, 1810-1989

Supervisor
Michelle Hamilton

E-mail
mstart@uwo.ca

Jonathan Weier

Jonathan Weier

Dissertation Topic
National and Religious identities in the Canadian, American and British YMCAs During the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jweier@uwo.ca

Christopher White

Christopher White

Dissertation Topic
Islands of Contention: The American Influence on Maritime Territorial Disputes in East Asia during the Cold War

Supervisor
Carl Young

E-mail
cwhite53@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221


Elliot Worsfold

Elliot Worsfold

Dissertation Topic
Welcoming Strangers: Ethnicity, Race, and Religion in German Lutheran Ontario and Missouri, 1939-1970s

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
eworsfol@uwo.ca

Office
STVH 2160




Back to Top


PhD Pre-Proposal Defense Students

Jonathan Bayer

Charles MacKenzie

Dissertation Topic
TBD

Supervisor
Nancy Rhoden

E-mail
jbayer@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214


Erin Brown

Erin Brown

Research Topic
Sexism and Gender in 1960s Pop Culture

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
ebrow57@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2215


Luana Buckle

Luana Buckle

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Allyson May

E-mail
lbuckle9@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2241


Paul Burrows

Paul Burrows

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
pburrow2@uwo.ca


Blake Butler

Charles MacKenzie

Dissertation Topic
TBD

Supervisor
Alan MacEachern

E-mail
mbutle4@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214


Benjamin Corriveau

Benjamin Corriveau

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Brock Millman

E-mail
bcorrive@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262


Heather Ellis

Charles MacKenzie

Dissertation Topic
TBD

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
hellis3@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214


Tristan Johnson

Tristan Johnson

Research Topic
Never Forget: Memory, Media, Technology, and the September 11th, 2001 Attacks

Supervisor
Bill Turkel and Rob MacDougall

E-mail
tjohn24@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2220

Website(s)
Tristan PEJ
Step Back History (YouTube)


Carla Joubert

Carla Joubert

Research Topic
"Barberton Daisies: The Role of White Women in the Settlement of the Transvaal in the Mid-Nineteenth Century.” 

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
cjoubert@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262

Website(s)
Twitter (@cajoubs)
cjoubert.wordpress.com


Bryan McClure

Bryan McClure

Research Topic
First World War Commemoration

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
bmcclur4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2241


Sara Poulin

Sara Poulin

Research Topic
Canada's Role in the Liberation of the Concentration Camps during the Second World War, 1944-45

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
spoulin2@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2215


Kyleigh Poultney

Charles MacKenzie

Dissertation Topic
TBD

Supervisor
Margaret McGlynn

E-mail
kpoultne@uwo.ca

Office
TBD


Allen Priest

Allen Priest

Research Topic
"Intellectualism and Masculinity in North America's Cold War Electoral Politics"

Supervisor
Rob Wardhaugh

E-mail
apriest4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2220


Maksym Sviezhentsev

Maksym Sviezhentsev

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Marta Dyczok

E-mail
msviezhe@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262


Lu Wang

Charles MacKenzie

Dissertation Topic
TBD

Supervisor
James Flath

E-mail
lwang842@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214


Todd Weiler

Todd Weiler

Research Topic
International arbitration, the legal and diplomatic professions, and foreign investment protection

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
todd@treatylaw.com

Website(s)
www.treatylaw.com
www.naftaclaims.com




Back to Top


MA Students

History MA Students

Name UWO Email Office
Robert Armstrong rarmst28@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Jordyn Bailey jbaile54@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Vesna Curlic vcurlic@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Patrick Holland Stergar phollan4@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Haley Kalous hkalous@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Sara Khorshid skhorshi@uwo.ca LWH 2252
Sunny Kim kkim334@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Steven Lauchlan slauchla@uwo.ca LWH 2252
Jonathan MacDonald jmacd289@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Rebecca McGee rmcgee2@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Christopher McHale ctmchale@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Alexandria Neumann aneuman6@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Robyn O'Dell rodell3@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Ilinca Olariu iolariu3@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Maggie O'Riordan Ross moriord2@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Austen Smith  asmit592@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Alyssa Szilagyi aszilag2@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Jonathon Vieira jvieira3@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Paul White pwhite28@uwo.ca LWH 2252


Back to Top


History MA Public History Students

Name UWO Email Office
MacKenzie Brash mbrash2@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Hayley Caldwell hcaldwe4@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Brooke Campbell bcampb87@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Alexander Fitzgerald Black afitzge6@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Thora Gustafsson tgustaf@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Lauren Lambe llambe2@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Emily Larsen elarsen4@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Delany Leitch dleitch4@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Lauren Luchenski lluchens@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Nicole Mcilwain nmcilwai@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Julia Schwindt jschwin@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Martha Sellens msellens@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Madisen Sollars msollars@uwo.ca LWH 1277


Back to Top