Graduate Students

PhD Students  |  MA Students  |  MA Public History Students



PhD Students

Jonathan Bayer

Jonathan Bayer

Dissertation Topic
National Identities in the Canadian and American Presses, 1763-1867

Supervisor
Nancy Rhoden

E-mail
jbayer@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214

GTA
HIS 2301E: The United States, Colonial Period to the Present


Nina Bozzo

Nina Bozzo

Dissertation Topic
Duty or Care? Canadian General and Stationary Hospitals, Universities, and Community Ties during the First World War

Supervisor
Shelley McKellar

E-mail
nbozzo@uwo.ca

 


Erin Brown

Erin Brown

Dissertation Topic
"Tranquilize Your Mind": Drug Use, Gender, and the Middle Class in American Popular Culture, 1955-1970

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
ebrow57@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2220

GTA
HIS 2301E: The United Staes, Colonial Period to the Present


Luana Buckle

Luana Buckle

Dissertation Topic
Foodways and Values: Leicestershire's Middle Classes, 1860-1900.  

Supervisor
Allyson May

E-mail
lbuckle9@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2241

GTA
HIS 1401E: Modern Europe, 1715 to the Present: Conflict and Transformation


M. Blake Butler

Blake Butler

Dissertation Topic
Winter in Canada: Six Faces of the Season from the 1890s to the 1950s

Supervisor
Alan MacEachern

E-mail
mbutle32@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2253



John Comstock

John Comstock

Research Topic
Beyond Control: Censorship, Soldiers' letters and the BEF's monitoring of the morale during the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jcomstoc@uwo.ca




Benjamin Corriveau

Benjamin Corriveau

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
TBD

E-mail
bcorrive@uwo.ca

Office


Heather Ellis

Heather Ellis

Dissertation Topic
Aftershocks: The Psychological Cost of the Great War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
hellis3@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2253

GTA
HIS 1810E: Wars that Changed the World


Michael Feagan

Blake Butler

Research Interest
U.S. History, Telegraph Operators

Supervisor
Robert MacDougall

E-mail
mfeagan@uwo.ca

Office
LwH 2221

GTA: 2201E: Canada: Origins to the Present


Frances Henry

Frances Henry

Dissertation Topic
Sex, Love, & the Noose: Sodomy & Emotions in 18th Century England

Supervisor
Allyson May

E-mail
fhenry@uwo.ca

 


Carla Joubert

Carla Joubert

Dissertation Topic
"Barberton Daisies": The Role of White Women in the Settler Colonisation of the Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek and the Canadian Prairies in the Nineteenth Century.

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
cjoubert@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262

Website(s)
cjoubert.home.blog




George Kennedy

George Kennedy

Dissertation Topic
teyukwatuhw^tsyoni (we all benefit from the earth): The Dish with One Spoon: Haudenosaunee inter-Indigenous relations against the backdrop of Eurocentric interpretations

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
gkenned6@uwo.ca

Sara Khorshid

Sara K

Dissertation Topic
Representations of the Other in Popular Culture: The West in Egyptian Cinema and Arabs in Hollywood

Supervisor
Aldona Sendzikas

E-mail
skhorshi@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2262

GTA: HIS 1807: The History of Business


Meili Ma

Blake Butler

Research Interests
Urban space of Jinan, capital city of Shandong Province

Supervisor
James Flath

E-mail
mma56@uwo.ca

Office
LwH 2215

GTA: HIS 1601E: Survey of East Asian History


Daniel Manulak

Manulak-UWO-History-website.jpg

Research Topic
A Light in the Window": Canada, Race, and South African Apartheid, 1958-1994

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
dmanulak@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 1203


Bryan McClure

Bryan McClure

Dissertation Topic
'Gave His Life for the Empire': Memory, Memorials and Identity in the British Commonwealth after the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
bmcclur4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2241

GTA: IR 2702E: Global Politics since 1945

HIS 2186B: Zombie Apocalypse


Michael O'Hagan

Michael O'Hagan

Dissertation Topic
"In the Midst of the Canadian Bush": Prisoner of War Labour Projects in Canada during the Second World War

Supervisor
Alan MacEachern

E-mail
mohagan4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221

Website(s)
powsincanada (blog)


Sara Poulin

Sara Poulin

Dissertation Topic
Canada's Role in the Liberation of the Concentration Camps during the Second World War, 1944-45

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
spoulin2@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2220

GTA: HIS 1810E: Wars that Change the World


Allen Priest

Allen Priest

Dissertation Topic
Under the Shadow of the Atomic Cloud: Masculinity, Anti-Communism, and Electoral Politics in Canada and the United States, 1949-1963

Supervisor
Aldona Sendzikas

E-mail
apriest4@uwo.ca

Office
LwH 2220

GTA
HIS 2201E: Canada: Origins to the Present

Academia.edu


Robyn Schwarz

Robyn Schwarz

Dissertation Topic
"To Be On Your Own: Single Mothers In Ontario, 1957-1980."

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
rschwar8@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221

Website(s)
Twitter profile (@robynsch)


Nassisse Solomon

Nassisse Solomon

Dissertation Topic
Rooted in History: The Trajectory of Representations and Perceptions of Ethiopian Identities in Canada

Supervisor
Stephanie Bangarth

E-mail
nsolomon@uwo.ca

Guy St-Denis

Guy.jpg

Dissertation Topic
Sir Isaac Brock and the Rise of Canada: His Leadership and Its Impact

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
gstdeni3@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2262

GTA: HIS 2120A: Northern Enterprise: Canadian Business and Labour History

HIS 2171B: Greed is Good


Mary Beth Start

Mary Beth Start

Dissertation Topic
Not 'a by-gone people in quaint bonnets': Material Remnants and Historical Inquiry in a Canadian Quaker Settlement, 1810-1989

Supervisor
Michelle Hamilton

E-mail
mstart@uwo.ca

Cristina Stoica

Lu Wang

Dissertation Topic
The Holocaust of the Roma in Eastern and Central Europe.

Supervisor
Marta Dyczok

E-mail
cstoica2@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2253

GTA
HIS 1401E: Modern Europe, 1715 to the Present: Conflict and Transformation


Maksym Sviezhentsev

Maksym Sviezhentsev

Dissertation Topic
Russian Policy in Ukrainian Crimea (1990-1997): Creating a Community of ‘Foreign Natives’

Supervisor
Marta Dyczok

E-mail
msviezhe@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221



Scott Van Wetten

Blake Butler

Research Interests
Political History, Canadian History, the First World War and the British Empire

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
svanwett@uwo.ca

Office
LwH 2221

GTA: HIS 2601E: History of Modern China


Lu Wang

Lu Wang

Dissertation Topic
The Power of Needlework: Embroidery in Late Imperial China

Supervisor
James Flath

E-mail
lwang842@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214


Jonathan Weier

Jonathan Weier

Dissertation Topic
National and Religious identities in the Canadian, American and British YMCAs During the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jweier@uwo.ca

Todd Weiler

Todd Weiler

Research Topic
International arbitration, the legal and diplomatic professions, and foreign investment protection

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
todd@treatylaw.com

Website(s)
www.treatylaw.com
www.naftaclaims.com


Christopher White

Christopher White

Dissertation Topic
Islands of Contention: The American Influence on Maritime Territorial Disputes in East Asia during the Cold War

Supervisor
Carl Young

E-mail
cwhite53@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2215


David (Yi) Zhou

Blake Butler

Research Interests
Cold War America, U.S. Defense Policy, Military History, NATO

Supervisor
Aldona Senzikas

E-mail
yzhou264@uwo.ca

Office
LwH 2221

GTA: HIS 2147A: Nazi Germany

HIS 2177B - The Two World Wars




Back to Top


MA Students

History (Thesis)


Name Email/Office
Robert Armstrong Topic: Environmental History of Oil in Lambton County
Supervisor: Alan MacEachern
rarmst28@uwo.ca 

Michael Brown Topic: Understanding the Social, Economic and Cultural Impact of the Child Emigration Movement in Canada from 1869-1932
Supervisor: Robert Wardhaugh

mbrow346@uwo.ca 

Dryden Choban Topic: Canadian Comrades: The Canadian Communist Movement and the Cold War
Supervisor:
Robert Wardhaugh

dchoban@uwo.ca 

Brigette Farrell Topic: An Analysis of Psychological Impairment in First World War Canadian Soldiers
Supervisor: Jonathan Vance

bfarrel4@uwo.ca 

Jessi Gilchrist Topic: Global Governance and Imperial Entanglements: Cooperation, Competition and Catastrophe in Anglo-Italian Relations, 1919-1935
Supervisor:
Francine McKenzie

jgilch4@uwo.ca 

Sarah Hart Topic: Mudding the Lens: Private Photographs and the Canadian Expeditionary Force
Supervisor:
Jonathan Vance

shart47@uwo.ca 

Patrick Holland Stergar TopicDepot Harbour: A Study of an Early 20th Century Canadian Grain Port
Supervisor: Francine McKenzie

phollan4@uwo.ca

 

Ilinca Olariu Topic: For Homelands, Both Old and New: Romanian-born Soldiers in the Canadian Expeditionary Force
Supervisor: Jonathan Vance

iolariu3@uwo.ca

 

Sam Pitre Topic: The Lasting Impact of the White Movement on Russia and the Western World
Supervisor:
Marta Dyczok

spitre4@uwo.ca 

Kenny Reilly Topic: Kudzu, The Vine that ate the North
Supervisor: Alan MacEachern
kreill22@uwo.ca 
Paul White Topic: TBD
Supervisor:
Keith Fleming

pwhite28@uwo.ca
LwH 2215

Sandra White Topic: Excisemen and Smugglers: A History of Whiskey in Scotland
Supervisor: Benjamin Forster
swhit46@uwo.ca 

History (Year 1)

Name UWO Email Office
Amaru Anderson aander94@uwo.ca  LWH 
David Buglass dbuglass@uwo.ca  LWH 
Hailey Clarke hclark52@uwo.ca  LWH 
Liam Clifford lcliffo@uwo.ca LWH 
Emma Comber ecomber@uwo.ca  LWH 
Ellery Cuculick ecuculic@uwo.ca  LWH 
Debra Deschutter ddeschu@uwo.ca  LWH 2252
Hayley Dick hdick@uwo.ca  LWH 
Joseph Fitkowski jfitkows@uwo.ca  LWH 1265
Samantha Franco sfranco3@uwo.ca  LWH 
Benjamin Gladstone bgladst@uwo.ca  LWH 
Katherine Hardy khardy7@uwo.ca   LWH 
Madeline Hiltz mhiltz3@uwo.ca  LWH 
Joshua Lomax jlomax3@uwo.ca  LWH 
Julian Matheson jmathe45@uwo.ca  LWH 
Michaelangelo Pepe mpepe3@uwo.ca  LWH 2252
Jayme Pinkham jpinkham@uwo.ca  LWH 
Kaden Proswe kprowse3@uwo.ca  LWH 1265
Andrew Rice arice25@uwo.ca  LWH 
Grace Rosien grosien@uwo.ca  LWH 
Christopher Weekly cweekly@uwo.ca  LWH 


Back to Top


MA Public History Students

Name UWO Email Office
Michael Bartlett mbartlet@uwo.ca  LWH 1277
Madison Bifano mbifano@uwo.ca  LWH 1277
Jessica Chernich jchernic@uwo.ca  LWH 1277
Margaret Dingwell mdingwel@uwo.ca  LWH 1277
Daniel Farrow dfarrow5@uwo.ca  LWH 1277
Hope Gresser hgresser@uwo.ca  LWH 1277
Thomas Lang tlang7@uwo.ca  LWH 1277
Kaitlyn MacDonald kmacd253@uwo.ca  LWH 1277
Brendan McShane bmcshane@uwo.ca  LWH 1277
Jared Schutt jschutt2@uwo.ca  LWH 1277
Lorraine Tinsley ltinsle@uwo.ca  LWH 1227


Back to Top