Graduate Students

Jonathan Bayer

Jonathan Bayer

Dissertation Title:
American Identity and Canada in the American Press, 1754-1815

Supervisor
Nancy Rhoden

E-mail
jbayer@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214


Erin Brown

Erin Brown

Dissertation Topic
You Go to My Head: Women's Prescription Pill Use in Postwar America

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
ebrow57@uwo.ca

 


Luana Buckle

Luana Buckle

Dissertation Title:
Learning to Cook in Canada  

Supervisor
Keith Fleming

E-mail
lbuckle9@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2241


M. Blake Butler

Blake Butler

Dissertation Title:
Canada's Evergreen Playground?: A Cultural and Environmental History of Snow in Vancouver and the Southern Coast Mountains

Supervisor
Alan MacEachern

E-mail
mbutle32@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2253


Benjamin Corriveau

Benjamin Corriveau

Dissertation Topic
TBA

Supervisor
TBD

E-mail
bcorrive@uwo.ca




Heather Ellis

Heather Ellis

Dissertation Title:
Aftershocks: The Psychological Cost of the Great War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
hellis3@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2253


Michael Feagan

Michael Feagan

Dissertation Title:
Sneaks, Jokers, Dudes, Ladies, and Tramps: The Embodied Precarity of American and Canadian Telegraphers, 1880-1929

Supervisor
Robert MacDougall

E-mail
mfeagan@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2221


Frances Henry

Frances Henry

Dissertation Topic
Sex, Love, & the Noose: Sodomy & Emotions in 18th Century England

Supervisor
Allyson May

E-mail
fhenry@uwo.ca

 


Carla Joubert

Carla Joubert

Dissertation Title:
"Barberton Daisies": The Role of White Women in the Settler Colonisation of the Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek and the Canadian Prairies in the Nineteenth Century.

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
cjoubert@uwo.ca

Office
StvH 2160

Website(s)
cjoubert.home.blog


George Kennedy

George Kennedy

Dissertation Topic
teyukwatuhw^tsyoni (we all benefit from the earth): The Dish with One Spoon: Haudenosaunee inter-Indigenous relations against the backdrop of Eurocentric interpretations

Supervisor
Michelle Hamilton

E-mail
gkenned6@uwo.ca

Sara Khorshid

Sara K

Dissertation Title:
Representations of the West in Egyptian Popular Culture: How Egyptians Imagined Themselves and the Foreign Other on Film During the Nasser Era

Supervisor
Aldona Sendzikas

E-mail
skhorshi@uwo.ca

Office
StvH 2160


Meili Ma

Meili Ma

Research Topic
Urban space of Jinan, capital city of Shandong Province

Supervisor
James Flath

E-mail
mma56@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214


Daniel Manulak

Manulak-UWO-History-website.jpg

Dissertation Topic
A Light in the Window": Canada, Race, and South African Apartheid, 1958-1994

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
dmanulak@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 1203


Bryan McClure

Bryan McClure

Dissertation Title:
'Gave His Life for the Empire': Memory, Memorials and Identity in the British Commonwealth after the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
bmcclur4@uwo.ca

Office:
Lawson Hall 2241



Michael O'Hagan

Michael O'Hagan

Dissertation Topic
"In the Midst of the Canadian Bush": Prisoner of War Labour Projects in Canada during the Second World War

Supervisor
Alan MacEachern

E-mail
mohagan4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221

Website(s)
powsincanada (blog)


Sara Poulin

Sara Poulin

Dissertation Topic
Canada's Role in the Liberation of the Concentration Camps during the Second World War, 1944-45

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
spoulin2@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2241



Nassisse Solomon

Nassisse Solomon

Dissertation Topic
Rooted in History: The Trajectory of Representations and Perceptions of Ethiopian Identities in Canada

Supervisor
Stephanie Bangarth

E-mail
nsolomon@uwo.ca

Guy St-Denis

Guy.jpg

Dissertation Title:
Exploiting a Hero: Sir Isaac Brock and the Rise of Canada

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
gstdeni3@uwo.ca


Cristina Stoica

Lu Wang

Dissertation Title:
The Perpetual ‘Outsiders’: Romanian Policies Targeting Roma between 1859-1945

Supervisor
Frank Schumacher

E-mail
cstoica2@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2253


Maksym Sviezhentsev

Maksym Sviezhentsev

Dissertation Topic
Russian Policy in Ukrainian Crimea (1990-1997): Creating a Community of ‘Foreign Natives’

Supervisor
Marta Dyczok

E-mail
msviezhe@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221



Scott Van Wetten

Scott van Wetten

Research Topic
Political History, Canadian History, the First World War and the British Empire

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
svanwett@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2221


Lu Wang

Lu Wang

Dissertation Title:
The Power of Needlework: Embroidery in Late Imperial China

Supervisor
James Flath

E-mail
lwang842@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214


Todd Weiler

Todd Weiler

Research Topic
International arbitration, the legal and diplomatic professions, and foreign investment protection

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
todd@treatylaw.com

Website(s)
www.treatylaw.com
www.naftaclaims.com


Christopher White

Christopher White

Dissertation Title:
Islands of Contention: The American Influence on Maritime Territorial Disputes in East Asia during the Cold War

Supervisor
Carl Young

E-mail
cwhite53@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2215


David (Yi) Zhou

David Zhou

Research Topic
Cold War America, U.S. Defense Policy, Military History, NATO

Supervisor
Aldona Senzikas

E-mail
yzhou264@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2221